Recipe: Eech (An Armenian Salad)

I make a lot of Armenian recipes at home.  While some are very labor intensive, others are really simple and use a lot of the ingredients on my list of pantry staples.  Lately I’ve been making Eech, a delicious Armenian salad that is usually served as an appetizer with pita bread.  It tastes like tabbouleh and uses most of the same ingredients but is less labor intensive.   This tasty vegetarian dish doesn’t require any cooking so during busy weeks or heat waves (like this week in NYC)  I know I can turn to this recipe.  I hope you will too!

Eech

1 cup of bulgur wheat (medium or fine blend)

1 8 oz can of tomato sauce

¼ cup of lemon juice (either 2 fresh lemons or RealLemon)

¼ cup of vegetable oil

1 small onion or half of a medium onion finely chopped

A handful of parsley, chopped

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir to combine.  Refrigerate 1-2 hours until bulgur expands (it will cook itself in the liquid).  Give it another mix before serving and serve with pita bread.  This pairs really well with hummus in a sandwich.

I’ve found myself making this on Sunday nights and letting it refrigerate overnight.  As far as entertaining, it’s a TOTAL crowdpleaser people will think you’re the greatest cook ever when all you’ve really done is put ingredients in a bowl.  My aunt takes this to people’s houses and it’s devoured in seconds.

Drop a comment if you decide to make this, I’d love to hear your raves!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Eech (An Armenian Salad)

Leave a Reply

