My New Favorite Breakfast

This isn’t the most creative culinary dream, but I prefer eggs to cereal in the morning and don’t always have time to make them.  Plus, who wants to come home to a dirty fry pan in the sink, only to wash and repeat the next morning.  On those days where I really wanted eggs, I would just stop for an egg sandwich on the way to work, about $3, which is kind of a waste since I always had eggs in the house.

But, for under $2 I’ve found my replacement for these egg sandwiches and have enough for the  week.

There are a number of recipes and variations for baked eggs in cupcake tins on Pinterest.  I had been meaning to try it out myself and well, I wish I tried sooner because it was a total success.  I modified  by mixing  in  sauteed vegetables to make it more like an “omelette cup”.  

Here we go…

IMG_0971

Preheat the oven to 350.

Grease a cupcake tin.

Crack one egg in each tin and season with salt and pepper.  I like my eggs to have a buttery     flavor so I dropped two small pieces in each cup as well.  I sauteed about two tablespoons each of green pepper, onion, and mushrooms and then  dropped a tablespoon on top of each.

IMG_0972

Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes and then remove.

These can be kept in the refrigerator for a few days.  The evening I made them, I had one for dinner with a side salad.  Then the next morning I topped with shredded cheese and enjoyed with a side of toast.

Also, if you’re entertaining for brunch this is a really easy way to prepare eggs benedict for a crowd.  Just cook for about two minutes less so that the yolk doesn’t cook through.  Place on an english muffin with canadian bacon and top with Trader Joe’s prepared hollandaise sauce.  (I’m making that a mental note for hosting brunch on a budget!)

3 thoughts on “My New Favorite Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Ten: My Pantry Staples | Drinking the Office Coffee

Leave a Reply

