Peaks and Valleys

Today I’m experiencing a high/low day.  It’s getting to the end of the pay period, which is when my budget will replenish.  Due to some unplanned expenses this month I have $40 left to make it until next payday. It sucks. It gets depressing, and I feel like I shouldn’t be in this position at the age of 30. This past weekend I had my friend’s bachelorette party in New York, which meant a lot of group meals, cab rides, and drinks which can all be dangerous if you’re on a budget.  While I had planned for it, I did go over my budget.  It was scary not having a card to fall back on.  And I got worried that by letting myself indulge even though I had planned for it, I would end up relapsing into my old habits.  This week I also incurred three additional expenses I hadn’t planned for: a bus ticket home for memorial day weekend ($27) and a ticket to an alumni event ($24) (both I had planned to take out of next months budget but I had to book so they wouldn’t sell out), and my monthly medication refill ($37).  I lost track of the every three month billing cycle on my medication and, well, it’s this month.  I plan to replenish the total of the bus ticket and the alumni event out of next months budget and put it into my San Francisco fund come payday though.

Aside from that downside, I’ve made it four weeks without using a credit card.  I can’t tell you how many times I have set that goal at the beginning of the month and never achieved it.  I’ve always ended up thinking “just this one time” which would end up being two or three more times before the month ended. Usually on more expensive purchases.  It hasn’t hit me yet as an achievement, but I think it will next week when I close in on my first month of my new budgeting strategy.  I’ve left myself without any credit card options, and it is quite scary.  I’ve cut all but one of them up and gave the last one to my sister.

This upcoming week will be a challenge, but I know I can get by on very little based on the past few weeks.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!  xoxo

2 thoughts on “Peaks and Valleys

  1. Hi there I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Aol for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say
    many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.

Leave a Reply

